
I recently read an article in a car magazine describing a auto driven vehicle. The machine would be powered electronically by a computer. You would type in your destination, and sit back and enjoy the ride. While this may sound nice, I foresee a few complications to this "solution".
Number one, why are we so lazy that we can't even drive ourselves? Is it that much of a hassle? If, as humans, we are too busy to drive ourselves because we need that time to work on something else, then hire a driver to drive you. I don't understand the need to have to multitask so much that you can't drive on your own. Maybe you could even carpool. I just don't think the answer is to have a computer do it for us.
Number two, would a mechanically driven automobile really create a safer driving experience? I say that it more than likely wouldn't. First of all, you can't expect that every single driver would trade in their vehicles for a new robot car. So, you would have the computer cars and the human driven cars on the road at the same time. You are going to have the same results as if there were not computer driven cars. Accidents are going to happen. The only problem then would be who to blame for the accident. Surely the driver of the computer driven car would not be at fault because the computer was driving and programed to not make mistakes. Therefore, the human driven car was the one at fault, right? Also, is there going to be an option for the human to drive and to have it be driven by the computer? If so, who is to say the human would blame the accident on the computer and say they weren't the one driving? I can see quite a few more lawsuits landing on the docket for these cases.
Number three, how reliable is your computer at home and at work? Mine is not as reliable as my current vehicle is, that's for sure. I couldn't imagine driving down the road and just having my car stop because the computer crashed or there was a bug or a programing issue. What then? Would that accident be my fault because it was my car? Look at the safety issues caused then. Think too how much more costly repairs are going to be. I can say that cars are expensive to work on now, just think how much more they would be for technical repairs.
So, even though these cars are already being built, I don't feel we are ready yet for them to hit the market. I think there is going to be a need for new laws to be created and old laws to be changed. Why on earth do we need this extra stress. And what would we call it now? You aren't going to be driving a car anymore, you are going to be driven.